Skip to main content

Marvel Comics comes to iBooks: ‘New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout’ is free for a limited time

Marvel announced today that comic fans around the globe could now launch the iBooks app and buy its classic graphic novels.

The publisher said it “entered a bold new era in digital comics” with the release of iconic Marvel stories and characters on the free iOS e-book application:

“With an iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch, Marvel fans across the world can now purchase over 80 graphic novels with fan-favorite characters like Thor, Captain America, Iron Man, Hulk, Wolverine, Spider-Man and more by launching the iBooks app,” wrote the company on the Marvel Comic News website.

Fanatics can visit the Marvel Graphic Novels section on the iTunes Store to start downloading the graphic novels today. Prices currently range from free to $24.99.

The publisher promises to add more titles to the choice each week for a “truly digital comic book reading experience that customers will never forget.”

Moreover, “New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout” is available free of charge for a limited time. As of press time, the e-book had a 4.5-star rating. There are also literary-adapted graphic novels available for children (“Wonderful Wizard of Oz“) and adults (“Pride & Prejudice“) alike, including a pre-order option for “Marvels.

It is worth noting that the Walt Disney Company bought Marvel Entertainment in 2009 for over $4 billion. Apple’s late cofounder and CEO Steve Jobs was a Disney shareholder and served on its board of directors until August 2011.

A complete list of Marvel’s iBooks offerings is available below.

Most of the graphic novels need iBooks 1.2 or later and iOS 4.2 or later. They are viewable with the iBooks app on an iPad, iPhone (3G or later), or the iPod touch (second generation or later).

Oh, and here is one more nugget for superhero-loving geeks: Marvel Comics also has a free self-titled app on the App Store with varied in-app purchases for hundred of comic books, such as “Iron Man, Vol. 1” and “Fallen Son: Death of Captain America.”

The following is a complete list of graphic novels at launch time:

Amazing Spider-Man Masterworks Vol. 1

Astonishing X-Men Vol.1: Gifted

Avengers Assemble Vol. 1

Avengers Forever

Avengers Masterworks Vol.1

Avengers: Disassembled

Avengers: Kree /Skrull War

Avengers: Under Siege

Avengers/X-Men: Utopia

Captain America: The Death of Captain America Vol.1 – Death of the Dream

Captain America: Winter Soldier Vol.1

Captain America: Winter Soldier Vol.2

Castle: Richard Castle’s Deadly Storm

Civil War

Dark Avengers Vol.1: Assemble

Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born

Deadpool Vol.1: Secret Invasion

Earth X


Ender’s Game: Battle School

Ender’s Game: Command School

Ender’s Shadow: Battle School

Ender’s Shadow: Command School

Eternals by Neil Gaiman

Fallen Son: Death of Captain America

Fantastic Four by Jonathan Hickman Vol.1

Ghost Rider Vol. 1: Vicious Cycle

House of M

Hulk Vol. 1: Red Hulk

Hulk: Planet Hulk

Infinity Gauntlet

Invincible Iron Man Vol. 1: Five Nightmares

Iron Man: Extremis

John Carter: A Princess of Mars

John Carter: World of Mars

Marvel 1602 by Neil Gaiman

Marvel Zombies

Mighty Avengers Vol.1: The Ultron Initiative

New Avengers Vol. 1: Breakout

New Avengers Vol. 2: The Sentry

New Avengers Vol. 3: Secrets and Lies

New Avengers Vol. 4: The Collective

New Avengers Vol. 5: Civil War

Pride and Prejudice

Runaways Vol. 1: Pride and Joy

Secret Invasion

Secret War

Secret Wars


Spider-Man: Big Time

Spider-Man: Blue

Spider-Man: Brand New Day Vol.1

Spider-Man: Brand New Day Vol.2

Spider-Man: Brand New Day Vol.3

Spider-Man: Crime and Punisher

Spider-Man: Kraven’s First Hunt

Spider-Man: Maximum Carnage

Spider-Man: New Ways to Die

Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1

Ultimate Spider-Man Vol.1: Power and Responsibility

Ultimate Spider-Man Vol.2: Learning Curve

Ultimate Spider-Man Vol.3: Double Trouble

Ultimate Spider-Man Vol.4: Legacy

Ultimate Spider-Man Vol.5: Public Scrutiny

Ultimate Spider-Man Vol.6: Venom

Ultimate Spider-Man Vol.7: Irresponsible

Ultimate Spider-Man Vol.8: Cats and Kings

Ultimate X-Men Vol. 1: The Tomorrow People

Ultimates Vol.1: Super-Human

Ultimates Vol.2: Homeland Security

Venom vs. Carnage

Wolverine: Enemy of the State

Wolverine: Old Man Logan

Wolverine: Weapon X Vol.1: Adamantium Men

Wonderful Wizard of Oz

World War Hulk

X-Force Vol. 1: Angels and Demons

X-Men: Messiah Complex

X-Men: Phoenix Endsong

X-Men: Second Coming


FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.

You’re reading 9to5Mac — experts who break news about Apple and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Mac on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel